Wednesday, February 8, 2012

The treaty of waitangi.

The Treaty of waitangi is a treaty first sighned on 6 Febuary 1840 by representatives of the british crown and various maori cheifs from the North Island of New zealand. In stead of Queen Victoria sighning the treaty she sent William Hobson to New Zealand to do it for her. The treaty established a British Governor of New Zealand, recognised Maori ownership of their lands and other properties, and gave the Maori the rights of British subjects. The english and Maori versions of the treaty differed significantly, so there is no consensus as to exactly what was agreed to. From the British point of veiw,the treaty gave Britain sovereignty over New Zealand, and gave the Governor the right to govern the country. Maori also believed ceded to the Crown a right of governance in return for protection, without giving up their authority to manage their own affairs.

No comments:

Post a Comment